Site Map | Home | APSU | OneStop

Find Books:
 

Citing Sources in APA Format (5th ed.)

 
 

NOTE: Reference list must be double-spaced.  It is single spaced here only to improve readability.

1. Article in a print popular magazine

Form

Author#1LastName, Initials, & Author#2LastName, Initials  (Year, Month Day). Title of the article: Subtitle, if there is one.  Title of the Magazine, volume#, StartingPage#-EndingPage#.

Example

Lemonick, M. D. (1996, September 2).  No wonder you can’t resist: Chocolate and marijuana share the same chemistry.  Time, 148, 58.

2. Article in a print journal

Form

Author#1LastName, Initials, & Author#2LastName, Initials  (date). Title of the article: Subtitle, if there is one.  Title of the Journal, volume#, StartingPage#-EndingPage#.

Example

Wilson, J. F. (2000). Lunch eating behavior of preschool children: Effects of age, gender, and type of beverage served.  Physiology and Behavior, 70, 27-33.

3. Journal article available in full text in a database

Form

Author#1LastName, Initials, & Author#2LastName, Initials (date). Title of the article: Subtitle, if there is one.  Title of the Journal, volume#, StartingPage#+. Retrieved DateYouAccessedIt, from NameOfTheDatabase database.

Examples

Bruinsma, K., & Taren, D. L. (1999). Chocolate: Food or drug?  Journal of the American Dietetic Association, 99, 1249+.  Retrieved August 27, 2001, from InfoTrac OneFile database.

Walker, D.  (2000).  What I see.  Nursing News, 24, 4+.  Retrieved August 27, 2001, from CINAHL database.

4. Printed book

Form

AuthorLastName, Initials (YearOfPublication). Title of the book: Subtitle, if there is one.  Edition# ed. CityOfPublication: Publisher.

Examples

Mehrabian, A. (1987). Eating characteristics and temperament: General measures and interrelationships. 2nd ed.  New York: Springer Verlag.          

Kadis, L. B. & McClendon, R. A. (1983). Chocolate pudding and other approaches to intensive family therapy.  Palo Alto, CA:  Science & Behavior Books, Inc.    

5. Chapter in a printed book

Form

LastNameOfChapterAuthor, Initials (YearOfPublication).  Title of the chapter: Subtitle if there is one.  In Editor#1’sInitials Editor#1’sLastName & Editor#2’sInitials Editor#2’sLastName (Eds.), Title of the book: Subtitle, if there is one (pp. ChapterStartingPage#-ChapterEndingPage#).  CityOfPublication: Publisher.

Example

Mangham, I. L. (1996).  Chocolate eggs and Chester Barnard.  In J. Billsberry (Ed.), The effective manager: Perspectives and illustrations (pp. 34-39).  Bristol, PA: The Open University.

6. Electronic book

Form

AuthorLastName, Initials (YearOfPublication). Title of the book: Subtitle, if there is one [online book].  Publisher.  Retrieved DateYouAccessedIt, from NameOfTheDatabase database.

Examples 

Adams, H. (1999). The education of Henry Adams [online book]. Project Gutenberg. (Original work published 1906.) Retrieved May 2, 2001, from netLibrary database.

Schwartzman, J. (1997). Thomas Paine and the ground-rent proposal.  In Wenzer, K. C. (Ed.), An anthology of single land tax thought (pp. 133-158) [online book].  University of Rochester Press.  Retrieved May 2, 2001, from netLibrary database.

7. Web Site

Form

AuthorLastName, Initials (Date).  Title of the web site.   Retrieved DateYouAccessedIt, from SponsoringOrganizationIfAny Web site: URL

Examples

Buchanan, L. (2001, January 26). A guide to finding information about tests.  Retrieved August 27, 2001, from Austin Peay State University, Woodward Library Web site: http://library.apsu.edu/guides/1_3_21.htm

Nutrition: Unwrapping the chocolate mystery. (n. d.) Retrieved April 7, 2001, from Web site: http://www.98six.com  [Note: use (n. d.) if no date is given on the Web page]

8. Encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work

Form

AuthorLastName, Initials (YearOfPublication).  Title of the entry.  In Title of the encyclopedia or reference work (Vol. Volume#, pp. Page#-Page#).  CityOfPublication: Publisher.

Example

Chocolate (1998). In The new encyclopædia Britannica (Vol. 3, p. 254-255).  Chicago: Encyclopædia Britannica.

9. Mental Measurements Yearbook review

Form

ReviewerLastName, FirstInitial. (YearOfPublicationOfTheMMY).  [Review of test Name of the Test].  In Editor#1'sInitials Editor#1'sLastName & Editor#2'sInitials Editor#2'sLastName (Eds.), MMY# mental measurements yearbook  (pp. page#-page#).  CityOfPublication:  Publisher.

Example

Sandoval, J. (1998).  [Review of the test Behavior Assessment System for Children].  In J. C. Impara & B. S. Plake (Eds.), Thirteenth mental measurements yearbook  (pp. 128-131).  Lincoln, NE:  University of Nebraska Press. 

For additional information see:
·        
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association , 5th edition 
(RefDesk BF 76.7 .P83 2001) (Ask at the Information Desk or in the LICR)

·        
“APA Style” at http://www.apastyle.org/aboutstyle.html, particularly “Electronic References” at http://www.apastyle.org/elecsource.html

 


APSU - Felix G. Woodward Library - P.O. Box 4595 - Clarksville, TN 37044 | (931) 221-7346 or 1-800-250-1890 | Copyright 2006 APSU 
Copyright Policy
Last Updated: 01-Nov-2006 | Questions or comments to librarian@apsu.edu