Site Map | Home | APSU | OneStop

Find Books:
 

How To Use netLibrary

 
 

What is netLibrary? | What is an eBook? | Create an Account | Log In to Your Personal Account | Quickly Searching | Searching netLibrary | Browse an eBook | Check out an eBook | Printing from an eBook
Accessing netLibrary eBooks through Felix


What is netLibrary?

netLibrary is a collection of online books (eBooks). APSU Library has subscribed to a portion of the collection which currently contains more than 10,000 titles covering all subject areas. These titles may be accessed through Felix Online Catalog  or by connecting directly to the netLibrary database through Library's webpage.   

What is an eBook?

An eBook is an electronic version of a printed book. eBooks can be viewed online from any computer connected to the Internet. You can browse netLibrary eBooks for 15 minutes for quick reference, or "check them out" to read for 4 hours. Because eBooks are online, they are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. They are automatically returned at the end of the 4-hour checkout time.

Create an Account 

If you are accessing the database from a computer connected to the APSU campus network or by logging in with your unique user ID (initials and last four of SSN)  through the library web site, you can search or browse eBooks as an anonymous user with no additional login required. To check out eBooks, though, you must first create a netLibrary user account. Once created, you can use your netLibrary account to log in from any computer with Internet access and have access to the eBooks in the APSU collection.

To create a netLibrary account: 
1. Access netLibrary through the library web site (here)
2.Click Create an account located on the right hand side of the screen.
3. Enter your identifying information, including username and e-mail address. 
4. Click Submit
Creating a new account automatically logs you into netLibrary.
If you cannot create an account from off-campus, please contact the library to create an account for you (see Ask A Librarian). 

Log In to Your Personal Account 

To check out an eBook, you must first log in using the account you created for yourself. 
1. Enter the user name and password in the appropriate fields of the "current members" box.
2. Click Log In. You are now logged in to netLibrary and will have access to all of the eBooks in the APSU Library collection.

Quickly Searching 

1. Enter search term(s) in the box labeled "keyword search" at the top right of the screen. To do a phrase search, enclose the phrase in double quote marks.
2. Click go! netLibrary will display the search results.

Searching netLibrary 

The main search screen allows you to search multiple fields simultaneously, including title, author, subject, keywords, full text, publisher, publication, year, and ISBN. The more information you enter, the more precise the results of your search will be. 

To find an eBook: 
1. Click the "search tools" tab at the top of the screen.
2. Click "advanced search."
3. Enter the search text. Text entered in the Full Text field searches the full text of all eBooks. Text entered in all other fields will search the bibliographic records. For an exact phrase search, enclose the phrase in double quote marks. 
4. Click search. netLibrary displays the search results.
5. Click the book's title for more information and viewing options.

Browse an eBook 

You may browse an eBook for 15 minutes without logging in to netLibrary.  

To browse an eBook: 
1. Locate the eBook you want to view. 
2. Click the eBook title to display the eBook Summary page. 
3. Click Browse this eBook Online. netLibrary displays the eBook. There are some books that require a special plugin called DjVu. This plugin allows certain graphical items to be displayed correctly. If you need the DjVu plugin, there is a link on the netLibrary page to go get it.  To browse (or view) those books you will need to have this plugin installed on your computer. Once you have that plugin, you can click the Preview this eBook online.

Check out an eBook 

To check out an eBook, you must be logged in to netLibrary. Once you have checked out an eBook, you have exclusive access to it for the checkout period of 4 hours. If the eBook is checked out by someone else, it will be unavailable until it is returned or the checkout period expires. The eBook is automatically checked in when the time expires. 

To check out an eBook: 
1. Locate the eBook you want to check out. 
2. Click the eBook title to display the eBook Summary page. 
3. Click Checkout and read online. netLibrary displays the eBook.

To see the time remaining on the book:
Click Home on the top left of the screen, then click eBookshelf on the right of the screen.
The time remaining is displayed underneath the book title.

To return the book (check it back in)
Click the Check in this eBook button on the top right of the screen
You will get a message that The eBook was checked in successfully
Books will be automatically checked in after 4 hours, even if you do not use the Check in this eBook button.

Printing from an eBook

Due to copyright restrictions, printing of entire eBooks is not allowed.  A limited number of pages may be printed one at a time.  Use your browser's print button to print the page you are currently viewing.

 


APSU - Felix G. Woodward Library - P.O. Box 4595 - Clarksville, TN 37044 | (931) 221-7346 or 1-800-250-1890 | Copyright 2006 APSU 
Copyright Policy
Last Updated: 29-May-2008 | Questions or comments to librarian@apsu.edu