Find Us on FaceBook! | Mobile Site Map Home  APSU  OneStop  Ask Us! 

Search:

Services For Faculty

General Information Services Finding Materials Contact your Liaison
General Information

Library Web Site

Library Hours

Library Faculty & Staff

Library Vision

Collections


Library Web Site

Visit http://library.apsu.edu to find out more about the library, find items in our Online Catalog, or access more than 70 subscription databases from on or off-campus.  Access to more than 43,000 e-Books and critically evaluated web sites is also provided through the online catalog. 

Information by Subject

To assist in finding information, resources on the Library Web Site have been classified by subject. View Information by Subject for a list of  print and electronic resources relevant to your field. 

View the List of All Databases to browse an alphabetized list of databases for identifying periodical articles, books, and other information.

Remote Access

Most databases and electronic books at Woodward Library can be accessed away from campus using your assigned identification.  For details, see remote access instructions and troubleshooting.

Are you preparing your lesson plans and need to know how to set up links to articles or other resources from the library databases - for D2L, course web pages, or other locations - so that they work from off-campus? Use the Library Resource Link Generator to make sure your links are accessible to your students from any location. Visit this page to set up a link or get more information.

Streaming Video for Embed in D2L Course Content

Videos in the VAST collection can be embedded in D2L course content.  Please view this step-by-step procedure for the recommended method to provide access both on and off campus. 

Back to General Info Menu | Back to Main Menu 


Library Hours

Fall and Spring Semester hours are as follows:

Mon.-Thurs. 7:00 a.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Friday 7:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.

For a daily list of hours with closings and exceptions view the monthly calendars.

After 9:00pm, only those affiliated with the University (students, faculty, and staff) will be admitted to the Library.  You must show your APSU ID card.

Back to General Info Menu | Back to Main Menu 


Library Faculty & Staff

Use this library directory to contact a member of the library faculty or staff.  It includes the title of each employee along with his or her phone number and e-mail address. 

Back to General Info Menu | Back to Main Menu


Library Vision Statement and Strategic Plan

View the Library Mission, Vision, and Values Statements (Adopted August 8, 2012)

The Library's Strategic Plan for 2011-2015  is also available for you to review. 

Back to General Info Menu | Back to Main Menu


Collections

The collections at Woodward Library consist of periodicals (journals and magazines); government publications; APSU publications; electronic resources (E-books and online journals); microforms;  audiovisual materials; and books.  All these materials can be located using the Austin Library Catalog. View the Library Collections webpage for a list and brief description of all  library collections.

Back to General Info Menu | Back to Main Menu


Services

Library Instruction

Library Reserves

Distance Services

Reference Services
Bibliographic Management Copy / Print / Microforms Computer / Internet Software Requests

Library Instruction

APSU 1000 Foundation and LILT

One of the Library's goals is to create information literate students who can negotiate today's information-rich environment.  All incoming freshmen receive foundational instruction in the APSU 1000 freshman experience course, which utilizes LILT (Library Information Literacy Tutorial).  For more information about what you can expect from your students after they complete APSU 1000, see http://library.apsu.edu/guides/1_3_57.htm#why.

Additional Instruction & Collaboration

Please consider arranging additional advanced instruction in your sophomore, junior, and senior level course offerings.  Librarians wish to collaborate with classroom instructors to build upon the APSU 1000 foundation.  To arrange for additional instruction, please complete the instruction request form at http://library.apsu.edu/library/3_9req2.htmTo reserve a room for purposes not related to library instruction , use the form located at http://library.apsu.edu/library/3_9reqroom.htm.

Back to Services Menu | Back to Main Menu


Library Reserve

Upon request and in accordance with applicable policies and guidelines, the Library provides both print and electronic access to certain course materials such as class notes, exams, homework assignments, journal articles, book excerpts, books and videos or CD's.

A print copy of Electronic Reserve materials will remain available at the Circulation/Reserve Desk for students in the class. The electronic version of those materials will be available via the Web 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, for student access. 

Faculty may complete a Reserve Request Form to place materials on Reserve.

For more information, view detailed
information on library reserves and the copyright guidelines for print and electronic materials.

Back to Services Menu | Back to Main Menu


Distance Services

The library has many resources and services available to faculty involved in off-campus or online courses.   Some of these include library instruction, the Ask a Librarian service, online resources, and document delivery. 

View Distance Services for Faculty to see details on all distance services. 

Back to Services Menu | Back to Main Menu



Reference / Information Services

Librarians are available to assist you and your students with research needs.  Assistance is provided in person at the information desk at the times below:

Fall & Spring Semesters Summer Sessions
Monday-Thursday: 7:00 a.m-9:00 p.m.
Friday: 7:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.
Saturday: 10:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
Sunday: 1:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.
Monday-Friday: 7:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Saturday: 10:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
Sunday: 1:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.

During intersession periods, Information Desk assistance is available 7:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

For remote assistance via phone, e-mail, or internet chat  see  Ask A Librarian.

Back to Services Menu | Back to Main Menu



Bibliographic Management

RefWorks is bibliographic management software that allows you to import references from online databases, organize your references into folders according to your topics of interest or various assignments, insert references from a variety of formats (MLA and APA) into the body of a research paper, and generate formatted references pages.  

RefWorks is free for all members of APSU and available from any computer with internet access.  View the RefWorks information page to learn more about Refworks and sign up for your your personal RefWorks account.

Back to Services Menu | Back to Main Menu



Photocopying / Printing / Microforms

Photocopying

A photocopier for faculty use is located on Level 1 of the Library near the Periodicals Collection and the public photocopiers.  To make copies from this machine, one must have a departmental code.  Faculty members should contact their respective academic departments for the proper code. 

Copies are charged to departmental accounts at a rate of three cents per page.

When making copies, please adhere to the Copyright Law and Fair-Use Guidelines for Books and Periodicals  explained on the E. H. Butler Library website.

For special copy services such as high volume copying, color copies, etc., please contact Printing Services.

Printing

The library does not charge to print from library computers.  Printing costs are paid from student Technology Access Fees.

Microforms

A microfiche reader/printer is available on Level 2 in the Government Publications area.  Microfilm readers and and a microfilm reader/printer are available on Level 1.  There is no charge for microform copies.

Back to Services Menu | Back to Main Menu


Computer and Internet Access

Twenty-four Pentium IV computers running Windows XP are available with internet access in the Library Instruction Computer Room when not being used for library instruction.  View details on the equipment and programs available in the LIR.

Check the Library Instruction Room Hours to see when these these computers are available. 

Seventy-eight full-service computers are available in the InfoCommons area during all times the library is open. 

Back to Services Menu | Back to Main Menu


Software Requests

The Library will install software supporting the curriculum on selected Infocommons PCs.  The Library will only accept software that is properly licensed.  For inclusion on the designated course-related PCs, faculty and staff are encouraged to submit copies of properly licensed software to the Library Systems Department.  Software received by August 5 will be installed for the fall semester and software received by December 5 will be installed for the spring semester. While there is no guarantee, every effort will be made to include software submitted after the designated deadlines.

Please make sure all submitted software is compatible with the Windows 7 operating system.

For additional information please see Guidelines for Submitting Software for Inclusion on Library InfoCommons & LIR PCs

To request software, please complete the Academic Software Request Form (PDF) and return it to the Woodward Library Systems Department.

Back to Services Menu | Back to Main Menu


Finding Materials

Library Catalog

Find Periodicals

Check Out

Inter-Library Loan

Request Items


Library Catalog
Austin is your gateway to over 340,000 books and audiovisual materials held in the library.  It also contains links to more than 43,000 e-Books and critically evaluated web sites.  All these materials can be searched by author, title, or subject. 

To renew materials or see what items you have checked out, click Your Account Information and log in with your User ID.

Back to Finding Materials Menu | Back to Main Menu



Finding Periodicals

Use Find Periodicals  to search for a journal or magazine by title or ISSN, or to browse all APSU titles by general subject.  The results screen allows you to:

  • link directly to the issues for online periodicals (in most cases)
  • link directly to the Felix records for print periodicals here in the library, so you can see what years are available. (For help locating the physical periodicals/articles in the library, see the instructions for locating periodicals at Woodward Library.

Finding Articles within a Periodical

To locate individual journal or magazine articles on a particular subject use the appropriate databases listed under information by subject or the alphabetical list of electronic resources

Remote access to most  of these resources can be gained by logging in with your user ID when prompted.

Back to Finding Materials Menu | Back to Main Menu


Checking Out Materials

APSU faculty members may present their valid Gov's Cards to checkout books and Government Publications for up to six months.  These materials are subject to recall after three weeks if someone else requests them.  

In the spring semester, books are due one week before the last day of classes.  During the month of April, the Library has a recall period so that faculty members may clean out their offices and either return library books before summer break, or renew them if the books are still needed.  The Library does not allow telephone or online renewals during the recall period.  

Faculty members may checkout items from the Audio-Visual Collection for three weeks.  These materials are subject to recall after one week if someone else requests them.

Faculty members must use Reference Books and Periodicals in the Library.

On-Campus Delivery

Faculty, staff, and administrators can request to have books or audio-visuals (but not periodicals or articles) delivered to their offices.  Complete the Campus Item Delivery Request Form.

Proxy Service

Faculty members may designate a borrower as a Proxy to check out library material for them.   Material checked out by a Proxy appears on the authorizing borrower's library record; likewise, all notices go to the authorizing borrower, as do any pertaining blocks. To register a Proxy at the Library Access Assistance Desk, the Library needs the authorizing borrower's and the Proxy's APSU identification cards.  After registration, the Proxy will show his or her APSU identification card at the Access Assistance Desk to check out material for the authorizing borrower.  

Back to Finding Materials Menu | Back to Main Menu


Inter-Library Loan / Document Delivery (Borrowing materials from other Libraries)

Books, journal articles, and media that the APSU Library does not own can be requested from other libraries through a process called Interlibrary Loan. You do not have to identify which library has the item before requesting it.

Most items requested from other libraries are received in 2-10 working days. When received, photocopies will be sent to your office and books will be held at the Circulation  Desk for pick up.

To request materials, complete the online the ILL Request Form or view details on How to Request an Item from Another Library.

Remote Access Video ClipILLiad video clip

Back to Finding Materials Menu | Back to Main Menu


Requesting Books & Journals for Purchase

Faculty may nominate books and videos for purchase by the library.  The request will be reviewed by the Departmental Faculty Representative and the Librarian Liaison to be sure the requested title meets selection criteria.  Contact your Library Faculty Representative for more information on ordering books and videos. 

Faculty may also make requests for periodical subscriptions through their Library Liaisons.  Please complete a Request for Periodical Subscription and submit to your Department's Library Representative.

Discover your department's library representative by viewing Contact your Liaison.

Information for Faculty Representatives and Other Faculty Members Designated to Request Purchases

Woodward Library uses a website called GOBI3 to facilitate faculty requests for books. View Request for Library Book Purchase

Collection Development

All purchased materials must follow the library collection development policies,  Woodward library selection guidelines, and current budget allocations for each department.

Back to Finding Materials Menu | Back to Main Menu


Contact Your Liaison


Liaisons by Department 

The library liaison program provides faculty with a personal contact to whom library-related issues and questions may be addressed.  Librarians are assigned to academic departments and are knowledgeable about library collections, resources, services, and policies relevant to their assigned area(s).

Liaisons by Department

Back to Main Menu


P.O. Box 4595 Clarksville, TN 37044 | (931) 221-7346 or 1-800-250-1890 |   Copyright © APSU