Site Map | Home | APSU | OneStop

Find Books:
 

Bibliographies

 
 

Consider using bibliographies to identify information sources to use in your academic assignments.

Bibliographies contain

  • lists of sources about a specific topic (Revolutionary War) or more general subject area (American Literature).

  • annotations (summaries) of the sources which help you to determine whether or not to pursue the actual source

 Bibliographies can save you a lot of time in that

  • someone else has done the work of gathering many sources about your topic in one place

  • some bibliographies are very selective, that is the bibliographers believe the items included are the very best sources on the topic

  • some bibliographies are written with the goal that sources included will be owned by a lot of libraries

 When using a bibliography, remember that you must

  • determine whether a listed source is a book or a periodical article

    • if it’s a book, check Felix Online Catalog to see if the Library owns it

    • if it’s a periodical article, check the periodical name in APSU Periodical Titles to see if the Library owns it

 Bibliographies can be identified through

  • searching Felix G. Cat Online Catalog by typing in your subject along with "bibliography" as a subject search (e.g. crime bibliography)

  • searching Bibliography Index located in the Level 2 Index Area

 If you have trouble identifying a bibliography on your specific topic,

  • try broadening your search topic (e.g. crime to criminology)

  • ask a librarian at the Information Desk for assistance

 


APSU - Felix G. Woodward Library - P.O. Box 4595 - Clarksville, TN 37044 | (931) 221-7346 or 1-800-250-1890 | Copyright 2006 APSU 
Copyright Policy
Last Updated: 01-Nov-2006 | Questions or comments to librarian@apsu.edu