Determining if APSU has a certain journal, magazine, or
If you are
articles on a specific subject,
use our databases
to pinpoint your information! Only use Find Periodicals if you
know which periodical you need or you want to browse.
Periodicals using a simple search form, with direct links
to online periodicals and records of print periodicals!
Periodicals is only available to users on campus, or to APSU
students, faculty, and staff from off-campus. You will be asked to
log in if you are off-campus.
For other users, or if you prefer, searching for periodicals in Felix
is still available, using the instructions below.
Periodicals allows you to search for a periodical by title or
ISSN, or to browse by general subject. The results screen allows you
link directly to the issues for online periodicals (in most
link directly to the
Austin records for print periodicals here in the
library, so you can see what years are available. (For help locating the physical periodicals/articles in the library,
see the instructions below.)
Austin to Search for Periodicals (alternative method)
You may also learn this information from an
online tutorial, "Can I get my
cited article from the Woodward Library?"
If you have identified an article in a periodical database or
index, and the
complete article is not available from that database, check to see if the
needed periodical is available by searching Austin. All Periodicals (both
electronic and print or microfilm) are in Austin.
Austin, ensure that you check for the name of
the periodical (not the article title).
on the left side of this screen.
In the Periodical Title starts with: box, enter the title of the
You may leave off "the," "a," or
"an" from the beginning of a title, but otherwise
enter it exactly as listed
An alphabetical list of titles will appear. Choose your
title from the list and click on it.
The dates that appear on this list do NOT correspond to the dates the
library has access to.
If your title does not appear in the list, APSU does not have
immediate access to that periodical. See Request
Items from Other Libraries.
The full record will appear with either or both of the following
This line appears when the periodical is available
electronically. It provides
the name of the database(s) which include the periodical,
the dates (issues) of the periodical that are available, and
a link to the database.
Click on the underlined link to enter the database. .
This section appears when the periodical is physically in the APSU
library in either print or microfilm. The last line, "Main
run:", tells you which dates (issues) are available. A date
with a dash, as shown above, indicates holdings up to the most current
Sometimes there are two Subscription Summary sections, one for print
holdings and one for microfilm. Check the dates in both sections.
For help locating the physical periodicals/articles in the library,
see the instructions below.
The print periodicals are:
Located downstairs on Level 1 of the Library unless otherwise
Arranged alphabetically by title, except for newspapers which are
shelved at the end of the collection
There are a few other exceptions regarding the location of
current issues and high-demand titles. Ask at at the Research
Assistance Desk (RAD) on the 2nd floor for assistance.
Periodical formats include:
Shelving rules to follow are:
Paper, bound and microfilm are shelved together
Ignore initial articles (a, an, the) EXAMPLE: The All State
is shelved in the A's
Titles beginning with acronyms (e.g. NASSP Bulletin) are shelved
before all titles beginning with the same letter
Be careful to include articles (a, an, the) embedded in the title
(e.g. Journal of the American Medical Association)
Photocopiers are on the
2nd floor and microfilm readers/printers are available on the 1st floor. Please ask at the
Access Service Desk on the 2nd floor for
assistance locating a periodical or for help with the equipment.
Click Austin on the left side of this screen.
On the red bar at the top, click Advanced.
Type the periodical title in the Title Keyword box.
In the Limits box, select Electronic journals
Click Go at the top of the screen
Select the desired title from the list, and continue as instructed