|
:: Examples of Primary and Secondary Sources
* For more information about primary and secondary sources, see
the
American
Memory Project
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ndlpedu/lessons/psources/source.html.
:: Strategies for Finding Primary and Secondary Sources
Below are some strategies for identifying
primary and secondary sources in the APSU Library, using the Library's
full-text databases, Austin, and the Reference Collection.
Full-text Databases
Use some of the Library's full-text history databases that contain
letters, diaries and other primary source materials. These
databases are listed under Resources for Research on the U.S. History
subject page at http://library.apsu.edu/inform/22HistUS.htm.
For example, the North American Women's Letters and Diaries
database allows you to pinpoint letters written by women who lived
through various historical events. Here you can find
letters
written by Abigail Adams to her husband, John Adams, during the American
Revolution.
Use other databases such as America: History and Life to
identify secondary sources about historical events, places, and
people. The secondary sources may be journal articles, books, and
other documents.
Austin
The Library Catalog
Use
Austin to identify
print and electronic materials, which may be
either primary or secondary sources.
For primary sources, search
Austin by AUTHOR (Last
name, First name).
This works for people who have written autobiographies, diaries or
journals, and letters. Examples: Washington, George <or>
Douglass, Frederick <or> Roosevelt, Eleanor
For primary sources, search
Austin by SUBJECT
KEYWORD,
using a heading that is descriptive of primary sources with the
historical event, person, or place being researched.
Descriptive headings include words or phrases such as: sources, personal narratives, autobiographies, diaries, letters, and
journals.
Note: Use truncation to pick up both the singular and plural
form of the heading.
Examples: United States Revolution personal narrative*
<or>
United States Civil War source* <or> Charlotte L. Forten Grimké journal*
For secondary sources, search
Austin by SUBJECT
KEYWORD.
Examples: United States Civil War <or>
Sojourner Truth
Reference Collection
The Library’s Reference Collection contains books in the Ref. E
section which cover United States History. Annals of America and
other books containing reprints of historical documents (e.g., The
Declaration of Independence) are located in
Ref. E 173. |