|
Remote Access allows
current faculty, staff, and currently
registered students of Austin Peay State University to use restricted
library databases from home, work, or wherever they have an Internet
connection. Students must be registered for the current semester to
use Remote Access. How do I access
Remote Resources?
Go to the Library's homepage (http://library.apsu.edu);
navigate to the database you're looking for
and click the link. If you're on campus,
you will be connected directly to the database. If you're off campus you will
see the Remote Access (Remote Patron Authentication) login screen with instructions prompting you for your
User ID.
Type in your Last name and A number and click the submit button at the log-in screen.
Your A
number is also
known as your Banner ID or Student ID (example: A12345678).
You will be granted access to the database if you are a
currently enrolled student or an Austin Peay employee.
If you do not fall into one of the above categories, you may use the
restricted databases by visiting the Library in person. However,
many databases (such as Austin) are open to anyone,
anywhere.
APSU Faculty Members: Are you
preparing for the Fall semester and need to know how to set up
links to articles or other resources from the library databases
- for D2L, course web pages, or other locations - so that they
work from off-campus? Use the Library Resource Link
Generator to make sure your links are accessible to your
students from any location. Visit this page to set up a link or
get more information.
EZproxy Link generator
http://library.apsu.edu/guides/1_3_13EZgenerator.htm
Most Common Problems:
Other Problems
For questions or further assistance, including help logging in, use the Ask
A Librarian form, or call the library at (931) 221-7346.
Which databases are available through Remote Access?
Almost all databases available through the library home page are available
from off-campus. If a database does not allow remote access,
notification will be provided on the introduction page for the specific
resource.
Note: Student access is only for the semester or summer session in
which you are enrolled, until the start of the next session. General summer
and interim access will be granted
on a case-by-case basis. Contact us as noted above to apply.
Try the following troubleshooting tips:
-
Be sure to enter your User ID correctly (no spaces).
-
After typing in your User ID, be sure to click "Login" instead
of hitting Enter
-
Customized browsers provided by AOL, MSN,
EarthLink, PeoplePC, NetZero and some other ISPs do not work
well with Remote Access. Follow these instructions if you
suspect this is the problem:
-
Open your AOL/MSN/EarthLink or other internet connection as usual
-
Minimize (shrink) the AOL/MSN/EarthLink window
-
Open Internet Explorer or Netscape (version 4.0 or higher) or
Firefox (version 0.8 or higher)
-
Use this new browser window to go to the
Library home page and log in to
the desired database
-
Turn the accelerator off
-
Additional web accelerator software such as
Google Web Accelerator will
need to be disabled to allow access to some library resources for both
on and off campus users.
-
Make sure your browser has javascript enabled
-
Make sure your browser is set to accept cookies
-
Software such as RealDownload or pop-up blocker software or ad-blocking software can also
interfere with Remote Access
If you still cannot log in, please call or e-mail us as noted above
and include your ISP (e.g. AOL, Earthink), browser version, operating system
(e.g. Windows 98, Mac OS 7), and the error that occurred.
Due to the vendors' software upgrade for these databases, they only work with
specific browsers. Please see the chart below.
These database will work after you have logged on to another
database. Please follow the directions below:
-
From the Library home page, Choose "InfoTrac"
from the "Jump to Database" box.
-
Log in with your
username and password
-
From the InfoTrac search screen, click
"Library" in the bottom left of the screen (you may need
to scroll down)
-
You will be returned to the Library home page. Select your
desired database and you will be able to access it without logging
in again.
-
If you still cannot log in, please call or e-mail us as noted above
and include your ISP (e.g. AOL, Earthink), browser version, operating system
(e.g. Windows 2000, Mac OS 7), and the error that occurred.
(Most Common message):
"Webspirs Problem. "ERL server returned error code
‘The maximum number of users has temporarily been reached’.
It may be minutes or hours before the database again becomes available."
You see this message when the maximum number of users are logged in to the
database.
For this reason, it's very important that you click the Logout button when you
are finished using a database.
This frees the database for the next user.
(Very rare message):
"A Server Error Has Occurred:
(Could Not Attach to Patron Data Source Profile. Error=Service Not Running)"
You will see this message when the Remote Access server is unavailable.
Please call the Library at 221-7346 and report this problem.
First, the Remote Access server checks your computer's IP
address. If it is on-campus, database access is granted
automatically. If your computer is off-campus, Remote Access asks
for your User ID and then checks it against a list of all currently registered
students and Austin Peay employees. If it finds a match, database
access is granted.
This page is presented
when a link to an article is copied from the address bar of a browser
into an email or other document. People sometimes try this with
the expectation that clicking the link will work, at a later time, to
get back to a specific article. Currently, the link in the address
bar of the browser only works when the request is instigated from the
APSU library website. Occasionally, links from within one database
to content in another database will result in this page, if this happens
please
see the above description for a possible remedy.
|