Site Map | Home | APSU | OneStop

Find Books:
 

Citing Sources in MLA Format

 
 

1.Print periodical article from a popular magazine

Form:

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. "Title of the Article." Title of the Magazine FullDate: PageNumbers.

Example:

Kaminer, Wendy. "The Last Taboo." New Republic 14 Oct. 1996: 24-5.

2. Print periodical article from a scholarly journal

Form:

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. "Title of the Article." Title of the Journal volume number.issue number (year or date): page numbers.

Example: 

Barthelme, Frederick. "Architecture of Renown." Kansas Quarterly 13.4 (1981): 77-80.

3. Periodical article from a scholarly journal available in full text in a database

Form:

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. "Title of the Article." Title of the Periodical volume number. issue number (date of issue): page numbers. FullNameof the Database. Austin Peay State University, Clarksville, TN [or where you accessed it]. DateYouAccessedIt. <URL of database>

Example:

"For the Food and Nutrition Professional: A Chocolate Update." Journal of the American Dietetic Association 100.2 (February 2000): 269. InfoTrac OneFile, Gale Group. Austin Peay State University, Clarksville, TN. 29 January 2001. <http://www.galegroup.com>

4. Chapter from a printed book

Form:

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. "Title of the Chapter." Title of the Book. Ed. EditorFirstName EditorLastName. CityofPublication: PublisherName, Year. page numbers.

Example: 

Mitchell, Susan. "Spending." Generation X: The Young Adult Market. Ithaca, NY: New Strategist Publications, 1997. 183-237.

5. Book chapter available in full-text in a database

Form:

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. "Title of the Chapter." Title of the Book. Ed. EditorFirstName EditorLastName. CityOfPublication: PublisherName, Year. page numbers. FullNameofDatabase. Austin Peay State University, Clarksville, TN [where you accessed it]. DateYouAccessedIt. <URL of database>

Example:

Rampersad, Arnold. "Langston Hughes and Approaches to Modernism in the Harlem Renaissance." The Harlem Renaissance: Reevaluations. Ed. Amritjt Singh. New York: Garland Publishing, 1989. 49-72. Contemporary Literary Criticism. Gale Group InfoTrac. Austin Peay State University, Clarksville, TN. 25 October 2000. <http://www.galegroup.com> 

6. Printed book

Form:

Author#1LastName, Author#1FirstName, and Author#2FirstName Author#2LastName. Title of the Book. CityOfPublication: Publisher, year.

Example: 

Eggins, Suzanne, and Diane Slade. Analysing Casual Conversation. London: Cassell, 1997.

7. Electronic book

Form:

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. Title of the Book. Ed. EditorFirstName EditorLastName. [if any] YearOfOnlinePublication [if any]. SponsoringOrganization [if any]. DateYouAccessedIt. <http://URL of the book>.

Examples: 

Davis, Amanda. Extraterrestials: Is There Life in Outer Space? New York, 1997. 13 March 2001. <http://netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=19641>

Emerson, Ralph Waldo. Shakespeare; or the Poet. Boston, 1904. Bartleby.com Great Books Online. 31 January 2001. <http://www.bartleby.com/90/0405.html>

8. Web site

Form:

AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. "Name of Page." NameOfProjectORGroup. DateOfCreationOfPage. NameOfSponsoringGroup. DateYouAccessedIt <http://URL for the page>.

Examples: 

"This Day in History: January 29." The History Channel Online. 2000. 29 January 2001 <http://www.historychannel.com/tdih/tdih.html>.

Burt, Sharon. "Maya Angelou." Voices from the Gap, Women Writers of Color. University of Minnesota. 31 January 2001. < http://voices.cla.umn.edu/authors/MayaAngelou.html>.

9. CLC Biographical Sketch

Form:

"First Name LastName." DateOfThePage. Contemporary Literary Criticism. Gale Group InfoTrac. Austin Peay State University, Clarksville, TN. DateYouAccessedIt. <http://www.galegroup.com>

Example: 

"Ralph Ellison." 2001. Contemporary Literary Criticism. Gale Group InfoTrac. Austin Peay State University, Clarksville, TN. 14 February 2001. http://www.galegroup.com>

10.Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) essay

Form:

LastNameOfEssayAuthor, FirstNameOfEssayAuthor.  "Name of the Person Who is the Subject of the Essay." TitleOfVolume. Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. VolNo.  Ed. FirstNameOfEditor LastNameOfEditor.  Detroit: Gale Group, YearOfPublication.  Page#-Page#.

Example:

Lawrence, Keith, and John Dye.  "David Henry Hwang."  Twentieth-Century American Western Writers, 2nd Series Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 212.  Ed. Richard H. Cracroft.  Detroit: Gale, 1999.  133-142.

 

For additional information, see:

· MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. RefDesk LB 2369 .G53 (Ask at the Information Desk) 

 "Frequently Asked Questions about MLA Style" section of the MLA's Web site - http://www.mla.org/style_faq

 


APSU - Felix G. Woodward Library - P.O. Box 4595 - Clarksville, TN 37044 | (931) 221-7346 or 1-800-250-1890 | Copyright 2006 APSU 
Copyright Policy
Last Updated: 01-Nov-2006 | Questions or comments to librarian@apsu.edu