|
Short stories are typically not
published separately, so you must find an anthology, a collection (book)
or a periodical which contains the short story you seek. A short story may
be searched by its author or by its title. Depending on the tool you use,
short stories may also be searched by the subjects they cover.
There are several search strategies to use in locating short stories.
If you are interested in seeing if the text of a specific short story is
available on the World Wide Web, consider beginning with a high quality
site selected by the APSU Librarians. You can access such a web site by
searching Felix Online Catalog. Type in ‘short stories internet
resources’ as a SUBJECT search. When you identify a short story web site
in Felix, you can go directly to the site by clicking on the address link
found in the Felix record. Once you are at the site, search for your short
story.
Consider searching your short story in Felix Online Catalog
via ANYWHERE KEYWORD. For example, if you want to find a book which contains
the short story "Young Goodman Brown" by Nathaniel Hawthorne,
search the short story's title in the Anywhere Keyword search box.
Another way to identify a book containing a specific short story found in the APSU
Library is to search Felix Online Catalog by AUTHOR. For example, if you
want to find the text of Young Goodman Brown, search ‘Hawthorne,
Nathaniel’ as an author. Then, scan the retrieved list of titles for
books which appear to include short stories. Once you find one book and
its call number, you can browse the shelves in that location to see if the
Library has other books by that writer.
To identify collections which contain your short story, use Short
Story Index located at Ref Stacks, Level 2 (Ref PN 3373 .C66 S56). The
‘Directions for Use’ section found in the front of each volume
provides detailed information about using Short Story Index, which
includes a combined author, title, subject index. Information about the
collection or periodical in which the short story appears is found under
the short story’s author entry. Check Felix to see if the APSU Library
has the collection book; check the Library’s Periodicals List to see if
the Library has the periodical.
For additional help or information, ask at the APSU Library Information
Desk, or use Ask A Librarian above. |