|
The most efficient method of searching
for a subject uses controlled vocabulary.
What
is controlled vocabulary?
Words and phrases that describe the topics covered by books, articles
and/or web sites in a database. The words and phrases are assigned
by a person who has read the information.
Why should I use controlled vocabulary when searching a database?
More precise results (fewer citations, but citations are more likely to
be relevant to your topic).
Eliminates searching every synonym for a word, because all synonyms are
included in the controlled vocabulary term(s).
Example:
Typing "cats" in the search box retrieves items:
-
in which the word "cats" appears
-
where the main topic is cats
-
marginally about cats
-
that use the word "cats" but are not about felines
Searching "cats" using controlled vocabulary
retrieves more relevant information because it finds items:
and EXCLUDES items:
How do I use controlled vocabulary?
Controlled vocabulary words and phrases can have many different names
in databases. In InfoTrac, the words and phrases that make up the
controlled vocabulary can be searched using the Subject Guide.
In other databases look in the Thesaurus or the Index for controlled
vocabulary terms. The words and phrases may be called subject headings,
subject terms, descriptors, index terms, or permuted terms.
To search using controlled vocabulary:
-
Locate the list of controlled vocabulary terms for your database
-
Find the word or phrase that best describes your topic
-
Search that word or phrase exactly as written
Controlled vocabulary for specific databases:
America: History & Life
-
Subject terms
-
May be searched in the Subject Terms Browse (click the magnifying
glass).
-
Subject Index includes words in the document title, abstract, and
descriptors
CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health)
-
Descriptors
-
Access through CINAHL Thesaurus or Index. Thesaurus lists all
occurrences of a word, Index provides an alphabetical list (click the
"Thesaurus" or "Index" button).
-
Uses core list of disease, drug, and anatomical/physiological
headings from the National Library of Medicine's Medical Subject
Headings (MeSH)
-
Also uses headings unique to CINAHL
ERIC (Education)
-
Descriptors
-
Access through Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors (click the
"Thesaurus" button)
-
Term Information shows broader, narrower, and related terms
Austin (Woodward Library's books and audiovisuals)
-
Subject Headings
-
Access through Library of Congress Subject Headings red books
near InfoStations on Level 2
-
Includes broader, narrower, and related terms
-
Using the Subject search in Austin will retrieve citations to books
using the Subject Headings
MLA Bibliography (Languages and Literature)
-
Descriptors
-
Access through MLA International Bibliography Thesaurus (click the
"Thesaurus" button)
-
Does not include titles of literary works or names of article
authors
-
Term Information shows broader, narrower, and related terms
PsycINFO (Psychology)
-
Descriptors
-
Access through Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms (click the
"Thesaurus" button)
-
Term Information shows broader, narrower, and related terms
|