|
All of us (students and faculty) are responsible for fully understanding what plagiarism is and
how to avoid it. We all need to learn and practice this skill both
at the university and in the workplace.
Below you will find excerpts from the
APSU
Student Code of Conduct
and the Merriam-Webster's
Online Dictionary. In addition, you will find links to
websites which will help you understand how to detect and avoid
plagiarism.
For information beyond this page and its links, check
out The Plagiarism Handbook: Strategies for Preventing, Detecting,
and Dealing with Plagiarism by Robert A. Harris which has been
placed on Library Reserve for the one credit hour course required of all
freshmen - APSU 1000: Liberal Arts in University Life.
Plagiarism is one form of academic dishonesty.
The APSU Student Code of Conduct states that,
| "Academic dishonesty may be defined as any act of
dishonesty in academic work. This includes, but is not limited to,
plagiarism, the changing or falsifying of any academic documents or
materials, cheating, and giving or receiving of unauthorized aid in
tests, examinations, or other assigned work. Students guilty of academic misconduct, either directly
or indirectly through participation or assistance, are immediately
responsible to the instructor of the class. Penalties for academic
misconduct will vary with the seriousness of the offense and may
include, but are not limited to, a grade of "F" on the work in
question, a grade of "F" in the course, reprimand, probation,
suspension, and expulsion." |
According to the Merriam-Webster's
Online Dictionary,
| to plagiarize is to "to steal and pass off
(the ideas or words of another) as one's own : use (another's
production) without crediting the source" |
Plagiarism
- adapted from a site developed for the University of Illinois at
Urbana-Champaign, this site contains a wealth of information, including
articles, case studies, and detection tools. Students who wish to avoid
plagiarism and faculty who want to detect and prevent it will find this a
good place to begin their search for information. Additional
resources covering ethics in individual disciplines are also included.
Faculty may want to assign and/or students may want to take 20 minutes to explore
a tutorial which provides information
about plagiarism, paraphrasing, and citing sources. Here's the
link:
Plagiarism:
The Crime of Intellectual Kidnapping
Additional websites that contain information about how to
avoid plagiarism are
Plagiarism:
What it is and how to recognize and avoid it - this Indiana
University website explains "common knowledge", gives
examples of acceptable and unacceptable paraphrases, and more.
Plagiarism
Resources for Students - this Eastern Connecticut State
University website provides links to websites which provide information
on quoting, paraphrasing, and summarizing. There is also a link to
a website containing an exercise on citation and paraphrase.
Avoiding
Plagiarism - this Lake Sumter Community College website provides
links to " web sites that offer tips for avoiding plagiarism and
discuss when to cite and how to paraphrase sources."
|