What's New @ Woodward Library (Previous Items - 2008)

Previous Items 2009  | Recent Items
Vending Machines Now Available  | December 4, 2008

The library now has vending machines for snacks and beverages.  

The machines  are located on the first floor (lower level) near the doorway leading to room 114.

Library Open Extra Hours During the Weekend of Exam Week  | December 4, 2008

The library will be open extra hours during the weekend of exam week. 

Hours on Friday, December 5 are 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., and hours for Sunday, December 7 are 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m.  The library will be open regular hours on Saturday, December 6 (10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.).  Good luck with exams!

 52 New ebook Titles Available from ebrary | December 3, 2008

52 new ebook titles are now available from ebrary ( http://library.apsu.edu/inform/21ebrary.htm )     

An alphabetical list of all 301 ebrary titles showing the persistent link for on campus and remote access is available from the ebrary info page or directly at http://library.apsu.edu/inform/21ebrarytitlelist.htm.

Collection of Political Buttons on Display  | October 13, 2008

View a collection of political buttons on loan from Drs. David and Ellen Kanervo on the second floor of the Library

The first buttons that were used extensively for campaigning appeared in the 1896 presidential campaign between William McKinley and William Jennings Bryan. For the past 100 years, slogans, pictures, and names have been used to promote candidates and causes.

Mystery Night @ the Library | October 13, 2008

The Library and the Department of Theatre and Dance present The Last Gasp at 7 p.m., Friday, Oct. 17, on the third floor of the Library.

Everyone taking part is given a character and has a fake murder to investigate. Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to participate. Pizza and soda will be served.  Click here for more information

Student Presidential Debate | October 12, 2008

College Democrats debate College Republicans @ 7:00 pm on Thursday, October 16

The next event in the weekly Library Athenaeum series is at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, October 16 and will consist of the Pi Sigma Alpha and Pre-Law Society Student Presidential Debate with participation from the College Democrats and College Republicans.  Click here to view the Fall 2008 Schedule.

Trivia Nights @ the Library  | October  12, 2008

Trivia Night at the Library (October 24 and November 7 at 7pm)

Trivia Night at the Library is funded by SASI Grants in partnership with the Woodward Library and the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, Chapter 191.  Click here for more information.

Changes to Library Computers and Photocopiers | October 12, 2008

Six additional computers are now available in the InfoCommons

The number of 60-minute computers has been reduced from six to two.  The two 60-minute PCs are located next to a pillar near the Access Services Desk (where the photocopier was for a while).  The photocopier is now back in its corner next to the elevator.  The original six 60-minute computers have been reconfigured as regular InfoCommons computers.

Changes to Popular Reading Area | October 12, 2008

New place to read or rest in the library

The popular reading kiosks have been moved to the middle-right side of the 2nd floor (as you come into the building).  In addition, a set of wooden bookshelves have been placed in that area, so the popular reading collection can be expanded.  The sofas and chairs that were formerly located near the main stairway have been moved near the popular reading collection. 

Library Athenaeum | September 10, 2008

The Library Athenaeum is a weekly speaker series conducted on the third floor of Woodward Library. 

The first event is at 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, September 23, and will feature Kim McMillan, APSU Executive Director of Community and Business Relations and former Tennessee House Majority Leader, speaking on “The Role of Women in Leadership in American Politics.”  Click here to view the Fall 2008 Schedule.

New Electronic Resources | September 10, 2008

The Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture is an electronic book now available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

HeritageQuest Online is now available Researchers can use HeritageQuest to find their ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled.

GreenFILE is a database that  indexes journal articles with content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Trivia Nights @ the Library  | September  10, 2008

Trivia Night at the Library (September 19, October 24, and November 7 at 7pm)

Trivia Night at the Library is funded by SASI Grants in partnership with the Woodward Library and the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, Chapter 191.  Click here for more information.

New Study Carrels | September 9, 2008

Looking for a quiet place to study or somewhere to plug in your laptop?

Trek upstairs to the study carrels located near the windows (and the electrical outlets!) at the far end of 3rd floor.

Laptop Computers for Check-out  | September 9, 2008

Did you know Woodward Library has 12 Dell laptops that may be checked out for use anywhere in the Library?

For more information inquire at the Access Assistance Desk near the front door.

New Group Study Room | September 9, 2008

The room on 3rd floor that formerly housed the Women’s Resource Collection is now a group study room.

The books that were in the Women’s Resource Collection have been moved into the General Collection.

New Location for Juvenile Books | September 9, 2008
The Juvenile Book Collection has been moved from 3rd to 2nd floor.

This collection consists of children’s books and young adult literature and exists primarily to support the Teacher Education program. Library users may check out books from this collection just like they would from the General Collection.
New Online Resource: Theatre in Video | August 27, 2008

Theatre in Video is now available from on campus and remote locations on the A to Z list of databases, the Theatre resources page, and the Multimedia resources page.

Theatre in Video contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video.
Unlike Hollywood adaptations, these are the actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience.

Funding for this resource was provided by the Tennessee Board of Regents (Regents Online Degree Program).


Welcome Back Students and Faculty Members | August 21, 2008

Classes for many students on the Main Campus begin Saturday, August 23.  

Please review the previous entries to discover enhancements made to library collections and services during summer break.

Computer Login Procedure | August 13, 2008

All Library Computers now require login credentials:

Students
may login to library computers with their APmail username and password. 

Faculty and Staff members
will need to select APSU as the domain and login with their Outlook username and password.


Community members
will be required to use the 60 minute computers near the front of the library and must request a password from the Access Assistance Desk. 

Please Remember to save your work and log out of your session before leaving the computer.

Recently Added Electronic Resources | August 12, 2008
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926: Digital archive offering original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.

ebrary:
Collection of around 250 electronic books covering a wide variety of topics

LearningExpress Library:
Interactive online database of practice tests and tutorial course materials - GRE and ACT materials included

 
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities (Education and Psychology): These directories help you select journals that are likely to publish your manuscript.

The items listed above are some new electronic resources added to the library collection over the summer.  Please see the A to Z list of databases to view more information and gain access to these resources.
Update to Digital Library | August 11, 2008
The Austin G. Woodward Digital Library located at http://digital-library.apsu.edu/ has a new interface designed by Digital Services Librarian Gina Garber.
New and Improved Instruction Rooms | August 9, 2008

A new Library Instruction Room has been created in Library Room 114.  This room and the existing Library Instruction Room 209 have been updated with new projectors and Smart Boards to enhance visual presentations.

Previous Items 2009  | Recent Items

 

 


APSU - Austin G. Woodward Library - P.O. Box 4595 - Clarksville, TN 37044 | (931) 221-7346 or 1-800-250-1890 | Copyright 2006 APSU 
Copyright Policy
Last Updated: 20-Jul-2011 | Questions or comments to librarian@apsu.edu