What's New @ Woodward Library (Previous Items - 2009)

Previous Items 2008  | Recent Items
 Library Athenaeum: 'My Journey From Rural West Virginia Roots' | November 23, 2009

Joe W. McClure, Clarksville community member and businessman, former Air Force pilot,
& crew member on Air Force One will present 'My Journey From Rural West Virginia Roots' Tuesday, November 24, 2009 at 2 p.m.

McClure will share his experiences growing up in rural West Virginia as one of fourteen children. He will describe his service in the Air Force during the Viet Nam War, where he flew 1940’s era Medevac planes, and he will talk about his experiences flying with Apollo 15 astronauts, Russian cosmonauts, and Presidents Nixon and Ford on Air Force One. He will also discuss how those experiences shaped him as a person, and led to his development as a citizen and to success as a businessman.

 Library Athenaeum to feature Dr. Emily Hanna Crane  | November 17, 2009

At 2 today (11-17-09) on the third floor of Woodward Library, Dr. Emily Hanna Crane, violinist and violist, will present a narrated performance of repertoire for solo violin and solo viola from various musical periods throughout history, including the Baroque era and the 20th century.

She will perform works composed by J. S. Bach, Sergei Prokofiev, Astor Piazzolla, and others.

Click here to view the Fall 2009 Athenaeum schedule.

 Patton to be portrayed at APSU Library Athenaeum   | November 5, 2009

To commemorate Veterans Day, Austin Peay State University Woodward Library will host a historically accurate theatrical performance of Gen. George Patton at 2 p.m., Nov. 10 in the Clement Auditorium, located on the University campus. The event is free and open to the public.

The portrayal, titled “General Patton’s Christmas Prayer Miracle,” will be performed by Larry Gates, a Brentwood securities investment adviser and 1952 APSU graduate.

Click here to view the Fall 2009 Athenaeum schedule.

 New Electronic Resource Available    | November 4, 2009

Biological Abstracts is now available for on-campus and remote access from the A-Z List of Databases and the New E-Resources Fall 2009 webpage. A link has also been added to the Biology, Agriculture, and Medical subject resource pages.

Biological Abstracts provides information in virtually every life sciences discipline. Over 4,200 journals from 100 countries provide you with access to over 11.3 million records from 1926 to the present.

Click here to view a list of  all the New Electronic Resources for Fall 2009

 Library Athenaeum: 'Obama the Socialist!'   | November 3, 2009

At 2 today (11-3-09) on the third floor of Woodward Library, Dr. Matthew Kenney, associate professor of political science, will explore the issue of whether President Barack Obama is a politician with socialist tendencies.

Kenney will invite questions from the audience, and students are especially encouraged to attend. Library Athenaeum events are free and open to the public.

Click here to view the Fall 2009 Athenaeum schedule.

Trivia Night at the Library | October 28, 2009

The last live team trivia event of the fall semester will take place from 7-9 p.m., Friday, Nov. 6 in the Woodward Library.

A faculty or staff member will serve as a captain for a team of up to five students. Light refreshments will be served. The top three teams will receive prizes. Click here for more information.

To sign up yourself, or your team, Click Here.

Rumpelstiltskin’   | October 28, 2009

T.O.Y.S. (Theatre Organization for Youth by Students) and the Woodward Library will present “Rumpelstiltskin” at 6 p.m., Thursday, Oct. 29 and Friday, Oct. 30 in APSU's Woodward Library.

Admission is free, but donations will be appreciated. The first 50 children younger than age 10 will receive a free story book and backpack!

 Library Athenaeum to feature Dr. Jill Franks  | October 23, 2009

Professor of English Dr. Jill Franks will present "D.H. Lawrence: The Prophet of Love" at 2 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 27 in Woodward Library.

A reception will follow in honor of a gift of 300-plus books by and about Lawrence from the estate of Dr. James Cowan, a Lawrence scholar and first president of the D.H. Lawrence Society of North America, of which Franks is president.

Click here to view the Fall 2009 Athenaeum schedule.

 Library Athenaeum to feature Dr. Tucker Brown  | October 2, 2009

What Do You Think? How APSU Students View Academic Success starts at 2 p.m., Tuesday, October 6, 2009 on the third floor of Woodward Library.

Dr. Tucker Brown (Associate Professor of Sociology) will highlight key findings from research conducted with Austin Peay Students throughout the 2008-2009 academic year. Results of the study and discussion will focus on student perceptions regarding the improvement of retention and graduation rates at the University.

Click here to view the Fall 2009 Athenaeum schedule.

  Trivia Night @ the Library  | October 2, 2009

Trivia Night at the Library returns October 9th at 7pm.

Trivia Night at the Library is funded by SASI Grants in partnership with the Woodward Library and the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, Chapter 191.  Click here for more information.

To sign up yourself, or your team, Click Here.

 New Electronic Resource with Full-Text Journals Available  | September 24, 2009

The Science Direct College Edition Journal Collections from Elsevier are now available for on campus and remote access. This resource includes over 1800 full-text journals in a wide-variety of subject areas.

 Journal collections in this resource include the Social Science and Humanities Collection; the Life Sciences and Health Sciences Collection; and the Physical Sciences and Engineering Collection.

Click here to view a list of  all the New Electronic Resources for Fall 2009

 Library Athenaeum to feature Sen. Barnes   | September 18, 2009

The Library Athenaeum fall program kicks off at 2 p.m., Tuesday, Sept. 22 on the third floor of Woodward Library.

State Sen. Tim Barnes will share his views and insights on "The Job of a Senator," and at the conclusion of his presentation, will take questions from the audience. The Library Athenaeum is free and open to the public, and students are especially encouraged to attend.

Click here to view the Fall 2009 Athenaeum schedule.

  Trivia Night @ the Library  | September 18, 2009

Trivia Night at the Library returns September 25th at 7pm.

Trivia Night at the Library is funded by SASI Grants in partnership with the Woodward Library and the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, Chapter 191.  Click here for more information.

To sign up yourself, or your team, Click Here.

 Murder Most Foul: Mystery Night in the Library  | September 11, 2009

Murder Most Foul: Mystery Night in the Library Presents… “The Cudham Riding Club” (7 p.m., Friday, Sept. 18)

In “Murder Most Foul: Mystery Night in the Library,” Cudham Riding Club, Lady Amanda Cudham, chairwoman and benefactress of the Cudham Riding Club, has died tragically. Was it an accident or foul play? We imagine foul play, so help us find out exactly what happened to Lady Cudham at 7 p.m., Friday, Sept. 18. Free food, entertainment and prizes will be available. Sign up now!

 New eBook Available | September 2, 2009

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Human Rights is now available for on campus and remote access.

This title is available on the Oxford Digital Reference Shelf info page ( http://library.apsu.edu/inform/21OxDRS.htm ) and the New E-Resources for Fall 2009 webpage ( http://library.apsu.edu/inform/2_0NewResourcesFall2009.htm ).

 Library Survey Results and Request for Participation in a Focus Group | September 1, 2009

Find out what you told us the library needs by viewing the results of the recent  Library Survey.

Please sign up to participate in a focus group so that we can get additional suggestions and discuss potential solutions.

 Library Now Home to Extensive Lawrence Collection | September 1, 2009

The widow of a deceased scholar who taught at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has chosen Austin Peay State University’s Woodward Library to be the home of her late husband’s D.H. Lawrence Collection.

The Lawrence collection at APSU is 18 book boxes, containing originals, Cambridge editions, biographical and scholarly works. Many of the items are shelved together in the library, allowing students browsing the shelves to see works about Lawrence but written by other authors.

 New Database Available | September 1, 2009

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is now available from the A-Z list of all databases, the New Electronic Resources for Fall 2009 web page, and the following subject resource pages: US History, World History, Literature, and Philosophy.

A Gale Webinar training session is available for this product on Sep. 11, 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. (EST). Click here to register for this session.

 Library Athenaeum Presenters Wanted  | August 27, 2009

Do you have an area of interest, expertise or research that you would like to share?

The Library Athenaeum Committee is accepting presentation proposals for the 2009-10 school year. Faculty, staff, alumni and current students are encouraged to participate, and proposals may be submitted via the Library’s Web site. More information about the Athenaeum also may be found on the Web site at http://library.apsu.edu/events/athenaeum.htm

Welcome Back Students and Faculty Members | August 27, 2009

Classes for many students on the Main Campus begin Saturday, August 29.  

Please review the previous entries on the What's New @ Woodward Library webpage to discover enhancements made to library collections during summer break.

 New Databases @ the Library | August 18, 2009

Fifteen new databases have been added to Woodward Library's collection of electronic resources since January 2009.

A list of these databases along with links and descriptions can be found on the webpage listing New Electronic Resources for Fall 2009.

 New Electronic Books @ the Library | August 18, 2009

Fifty-nine new electronic books have been added to Woodward Library's collection of electronic resources since April 2009.

A list of these books along with links and descriptions can be found on the webpage listing New Electronic Resources for Fall 2009.

 New Electronic Tool for Locating Resources @ the Library | August 18, 2009

A new product for locating print and electronic journals owned by Woodward Library has been implemented.

A description of this product along with links and samples can be found on the webpage listing New Electronic Resources for Fall 2009.

 New Interfaces for Electronic Resources @ the Library | August 18, 2009

Many databases in the Woodward Library collection of electronic resources have changed vendors or migrated to an updated interface.

A description of these changes along with links to the databases can be found on the webpage listing New Electronic Resources for Fall 2009.

 Upcoming Electronic Resources @ the Library | August 18, 2009

Many new items are in the process of being added to the collection of electronic resources at Woodward Library

A description of these new resources can be found in the list of upcoming resources on the webpage listing New Electronic Resources for Fall 2009.

  Trivia Night @ the Library | April 16, 2009

Trivia Night at the Library (Friday, April 17 at 7pm)

Trivia Night at the Library is funded by SASI Grants in partnership with the Woodward Library and the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, Chapter 191.  Click here for more information.

  Spring Jam '09 Free Music Festival  | April 14, 2009
Spring Jam '09 at the University Center plaza (11:30am - 2pm on Friday, April 17)

You are invited to attend Spring Jam '09 at the University Center plaza, from 11:30am - 2pm on Friday, April 17. Spring Jam '09 is sponsored by The Woodward Library Society (friends of the library) and marks the start of our membership drive.

Student membership is only $5, and you'll get a free goody bag of home-baked cookies. Faculty & staff, if you sign up we'll make you the same deal on cookies!

For more information about the Woodward Library Society see
http://library.apsu.edu/society/index.html
  National Library Week Celebration in Woodward Library | April 13, 2009
Open House Reception in Honor of National Library Week (Thursday April 16, 2009)

Please join us from 10:30-11:30 a.m. on Thursday, April 16, in Woodward Library for an open house reception in honor of National Library Week. Refreshments will be served, and we will also be awarding prizes to students who won for participating in the LibQUAL+ library quality survey.
  Murder Most Foul: Mystery Night in the Library | March 3, 2009
The Woodward Library and the Department of Theatre present THE AUCTION on Friday, April 3, 2009.

THE AUCTION
is a murder mystery event funded by a SASI Grant.  Faculty, Staff, and Students are encouraged to participate.  Costumes are optional.  $300.00 in prizes will be awarded. Ideal for anyone who likes intrigue, infamy, stiff drinks, and stiff collars. Pizza and soda will be served. 

Click here for more information.

Contact Gina Garber at garberg@apsu.edu or Christina Chester-Fangman chester-fangmanc@apsu.edu to participate.

  Three New Resources Available | March 3, 2009
Three new resources (ArchiveGrid, CAMIO, and OAIster) are now available through the A to Z list of databases and appropriate subject pages.

ArchiveGrid  includes nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. A link for it has been placed on the library website menu under Search & Find—Other Catalogs.

CAMIO contains images for about 95,000 works of fine and decorative art from leading museums around the world.  It has been added to the subject resource pages for Art and Multimedia.

OAIster is a catalog of more than 19 million digital resources from over 1,000 organizations. A link for it has been placed on the library website menu under Search & Find—Other Catalogs.

  More New Databases Available | February 16, 2009

6 previously unlinked databases provided by the Tennessee Board of Regents (RODP) have been made available through the A to Z list of databases and appropriate subject pages.

The recently activated TBR/RODP databases include Business Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Legal Periodicals Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text Select, and Social Science Full Text.  All of the journals in these databases are also available through the OmniFile Full Text database.

  New Databases Available | February 12, 2009

15 previously unlinked databases from the Tennessee Electronic Library collection have been made available through the A to Z list of databases and appropriate subject pages.

A list of all databases in the TEL collection are now available from the Education Resource page, as many age appropriate databases for grades K-12 are included.

Databases previously starting with InfoTrac have been renamed on the A to Z list of databases  to begin with a specific database name.  For example, the database previously known as InfoTrac OneFile has been labeled General OneFile, and InfoTrac Religion and Philosophy has now been labeled Religion and Philosophy Database.

  Trivia Night @ the Library | February 3, 2009

Trivia Night at the Library (Friday, February 6 at 7pm)

Trivia Night at the Library is funded by SASI Grants in partnership with the Woodward Library and the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, Chapter 191.  Click here for more information.

  Spring 2009 Library Athenaeum | January 21, 2009

TThe Spring 2009 Athenaeum Schedule is available and an Athenaeum Facebook page has been created.

The first event is at 2:00 p.m. on Thursday, January 22, and will preview a documentary on the January 1999 F4 tornado that came through Clarksville. The documentary was produced by a student of Kathy Lee, assistant professor of video production at APSU. a href="http://library.apsu.edu/events/athenaeum.htm"> Click here to view the Spring 2009 Schedule.

Please join the Library Athenaeum Facebook page to comment or keep updated on future events.

  Veteran's Oral History Project | January 21, 2009

A website recording progress on the Veteran's Oral History Project is now available (http://library.apsu.edu/library/veteransproject/Default.htm)

The Tawani Foundation in partnership with the Pritzker Military Library, Fort Campbell Historical Foundation, Austin Peay State University’s History Department, and Woodward Library have joined together to provide access to video-taped interviews and personal narratives of U.S. Veterans.  The interviews will provide first-hand accounts of veterans in World War II (1939-1946) and the Korean War (1950-1955).

A link to the Veteran's Oral History Project  is available on the main navigational menu of the library website under News & Events--Veteran's Oral History.

 New ebrary interface and QuickView option  | January 21, 2009

Users of ebrary can now view a document in QuickView by simply clicking on the title name or image of the e-book. (http://library.apsu.edu/inform/21ebrary.htm)

This option does not require the installation of the ebrary reader browser plug-in.  However, to print; copy and paste; highlight; or make notes, the book must be opened in ebrary reader by clicking on the ebrary reader button.

The user interface has also been redesigned for improved navigation.

 New Database: IOPscience | January  20, 2009

IOPscience (Institute of Physics) is now available ( http://library.apsu.edu/inform/21IOP.htm)     

IOPscience contains more than 300,000 articles, from 1874 to the present day. It's been designed to give you easy access to scientific, technical and medical content. The content in IOPscience has been organized by more than 6,000 classifications using PACS and MSC codes in physics, astronomy and mathematics.

 A list of all journal titles included in IOP Science with available dates (PDF) is available.

New Exhibit: Tornado 10th Anniversary | January  20, 2009

Please view the Tornado 10th Anniversary Photo Display on the 2nd Floor of the Library.

The related Library Athenaeum Clarksville Tornado: 10 Years Later will be held Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 2 p.m.

Previous Items 2008  | Recent Items

 

 


APSU - Austin G. Woodward Library - P.O. Box 4595 - Clarksville, TN 37044 | (931) 221-7346 or 1-800-250-1890 | Copyright 2006 APSU 
Copyright Policy
Last Updated: 30-Jul-2013 | Questions or comments to librarian@apsu.edu