Find Us on FaceBook! | Mobile Site Map Home  APSU  OneStop  Ask Us! 

Search:

What's New @ Woodward Library  (Previous Items - 2011)

Recent Items
 New Resource: The Tennessean (Online) | July 8, 2011

Electronic access to The Tennessean is now available through ProQuest. It can be accessed from the A-Z list of databases, the news resource page, the Local Information resource page, the TEL page, and from Find Periodicals/Article Linker options. Access is provided from November 7, 2002 to present.

Use the URL http://ezproxy.lib.apsu.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/?accountid=8437&selectids=1007699,1007707  to search Clarksville Leaf Chronicle (2002-present) simultaneously with full text articles from the Tennessean. This link has also been provided on the info page for each resource.
 

 New Mobile Resource: SciFinder Mobile | June 15, 2011

Access has been provided to the new SciFinder mobile platform on the Library Mobile Website at http://library.apsu.edu/m/alldevices/scifinder.html.

It has been added to appropriate sections of the site, including the list of mobile chemistry resources. You must have created a free log-in to the web version of SciFinder to be able to access the mobile version.

Contest Announcement:  Show where you use SciFinder Mobile and win an iPad!  For more details see http://www.cas.org/products/scifindr/sfmobile/mobilecontest.html

 New Resource: Education in Video | June 1, 2011

On-campus and remote access is now available for Education in Video. It is available on the list of all databases, the Education resources page, and the Multimedia resources page.

Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. It contains more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750+ hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.  For more info see http://library.apsu.edu/inform/AlexanderStreet/21eduvideo.htm .

 Library Software Requests by Faculty and Departments: Response Required | May 12, 2011

For the Fall 2011 semester, Woodward Library will be updating the OS on all public access computers to Windows 7. If you have previously submitted library software requests, you will be required to fill out the 2011 Software Request Form by August 5, 2011. Requests for new software will also be accepted. See http://library.apsu.edu/library/2011Notice.htm for details and a link to the form.

Library servers down for maintenance on Sunday  | May 5, 2011

Due to updates to library server software, electronic services, including remote database access and interlibrary loan will not be available from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., Sunday, May 8.  Selected online databases may be accessed via TEL: the Tennessee Electronic Library at
http://tntel.tnsos.org/browse.php?browse=listings.

Zone 3 Press books on display in the Woodward Library | May 5, 2011

Stop by the Woodward Library this month for a look at four prize-winning poetry books published by the literary press of Austin Peay. Included in the display are individual poems by the prizewinners, as well as the recently released chapbook, Norman Dubie's "The Fallen Bird of the Fields."

Govs Spring Read essay contest winner to present this week's Library Athenaeum | April 12, 2011

Aprile "Brooke" Denny, senior English major and winner of the Govs Spring Read essay contest, will give a presentation based on her essay, "My Own Journey: Not Only Where I Would Go, But Why." Denny's talk will be conducted at 1 p.m., Wednesday, April 13 in the Woodward Library. Athenaeum events are free and open to the public, and students are especially encouraged to attend.

Library Athenaeum: "The Civic Art of Clarksville: The Story Behind the Pieces" |  March 28, 2011

APSU students Wilson Mendez, Eric Martin and Marlon Scott will present "The Civic Art of Clarksville: The Story Behind the Pieces" at 1 p.m., Wednesday, March 30, in the Woodward Library. The presentation is the result of an interdisciplinary project involving art, public management and geographic information systems. Athenaeum events are free and open to the public.

Click here to view the Spring 2011 Athenaeum schedule

Library Athenaeum Series Begins March 16 |  March 15, 2011

Dr. Brian Johnson, assistant vice president of academic affairs, will present "The Role of Higher Education in the Religious Transformation of W.E.B. Du Bois" at 1 p.m., Wednesday, March 16 in the Woodward Library. Johnson is the author of two books about Du Bois, a prominent 20th century intellectual leader and civil rights activist. Library Athenaeum events are free and open to the public.

Click here to view the Spring 2011 Athenaeum schedule

Computer Access Limited the week of March 13-19 | March 13, 2011

Most of the library’s information commons computers will not be available Sunday, Monday and Tuesday, March 13-15, due to the remodeling project in Woodward Library. The library has 20 laptops available for checkout and use within the building on the wireless network.

Other campus labs are open on weekdays; see the list of locations and hours at http://www.apsu.edu/labinfo 

New Resource: World History in Video | March 7, 2011

On-campus and remote access is now available for World History in Video. It is available on the list of all databases, the World History resource page, and the Multimedia resources page.

World History in Video is an online collection of streaming video that gives faculty, students, and history lovers access to more than 1,750 critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.  For more info see http://library.apsu.edu/inform/AlexanderStreet/21worldhistvideo.htm .

Library Closed March 6-7; Computer Access Limited During Spring Break | February 28, 2011

Woodward Library will be closed March 6-7 to prepare for the installation of new furniture during spring break. Old furniture will be removed beginning March 3, thus general seating will be limited until the new furniture arrives. Library computers will be accessible through March 5. Computer access and printing will be severely restricted during spring break; call first if you are making a special trip (931-221-7346). 

Is that the Library in your pocket?  |  February 25, 2011

Need to research on the go?  Woodward Library announces a mobile gateway for internet-enabled phones which provides access to mobile versions of many of your favorite research databases.

Mobile research options are provided for most devices, including iPhone and Android.  Remember to visit the full version of the library website for access to all resources and services.

Links are provided on the library homepage or it can be accessed directly at http://library.apsu.edu/m/ .

QR code: Library Mobile QR code

 Inclement Weather Announcement   |  January 20, 2011

Due to inclement weather conditions, the Library will close at 4:30pm on Thursday, Jan. 20th.

It will reopen at 10am on Friday, Jan. 21 weather permitting.  If classes are cancelled or further delayed, the library will remain closed until classes resume.

Call for spring Library Athenaeum proposals  |  January 14, 2011

Faculty, staff and students are invited to submit Library Athenaeum proposals now for spring semester.

The purpose of the Athenaeum is to hold events that promote and enhance the intellectual life of the University and the region. Presentations may include lectures, panel discussions, debates, performances, readings, etc. The proposal form can be found at http://library.apsu.edu/events/athenaeum_prop.htm.

Library renovation and food / drink policy |  January 4, 2011

The renovation of the main floor of Woodward Library is well under way. The walls have been painted and new carpet is on the floor. It looks great!

To keep the library looking nice, we are asking for everyone's cooperation to comply with the existing Food and Drink Policy, which basically allows drinks in spill-proof cups and individually wrapped snack foods. Full details are on the library website at http://library.apsu.edu/library/policies/3_4food&drink.htm

Previous Items: 2008 | 2009 | 2010

P.O. Box 4595 Clarksville, TN 37044 | (931) 221-7346 or 1-800-250-1890 |   Copyright © APSU