Go back

Interlibrary Loan Policy

The Interlibrary Loan Service provides the students, faculty, administration and staff of Austin Peay State University with a means of acquiring needed research materials unavailable in the Woodward Library.


  1. Anything of an informative value may be borrowed, irrespective of format, subject to the provisions, limitations, and restrictions of the lending library, the National Interlibrary Loan Code, and the Tennessee State Interlibrary Loan Code.
  2. Current students, faculty, administration and staff of APSU are able to request materials through Interlibrary Loan.
  3. There is no charge for requests by APSU faculty, staff, administration and students. Borrowers are encouraged to use discretion and request items needed for classes, research and related activities.
  4. A fine of $1 per day past the due date will be assessed for all Interlibrary Loans (not photocopies) for all categories of users (APSU faculty, staff, administration and students).
  5. Woodward Library observes and holds in strict compliance the Copyright Law of the United States, Public Law 94-553, and the CONTU Guidelines for interlibrary arrangements.


  1. The Woodward Library's resources are available to other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
  2. Following a determination that the requested material is not immediately required for its primary clientele, defined as students, faculty, administration, and staff of Austin Peay State University, requests are filled giving priority first to Tennessee libraries, then to southeastern libraries including Arkansas, defined as the region served by SOLINET or contiguous to Tennessee, and then to libraries outside the SOLINET region.
  3. The loan period is three weeks from receipt of material, subject to recall, with one renewal subject to the approval of the Interlibrary Loan librarian.
  4. The following are not normally loaned: reference materials, reserve materials, audiovisual materials with the exception of designated videocassettes, periodicals (bound or microfilm) excluding newspapers on microfilm, University Archives & Special Collections materials, and non-circulating federal government publications.

Adopted May 29, 2002; revised Sep. 16, 2016